de | fr | it | en
de | fr | it | en

Main navigation - With arrow keys left / right through the main points


Church museum in Ernen

Museum / Exhibition

The parish church of St.Georg was built by the famous Prismell master builder Ulrich Ruffener under Bishop Matthäus Schiner of Mühlebach. The magnificent Baroque high altar dates back to 1758-61.

The church museum has been located under the high altar in the crypt since 1999. Visitors can admire the numerous elaborately hand-crafted Baroque chasubles, especially the Schiner chasuble dating back to 1500 and the Schiner chalice. You can also admire the work of goldsmiths in the church museum during the village tour and a series of objects relating to the history of the parish.
The church museum in the parish church of St. Georg is a stop on the village tour.

More informations

  • Educational opportunity


All season


The church museum can be visited during a village tour. In July, August and October there is a guided tour of the village every Tuesday at 16.00h followed by an aperitif. These visits are free of charge for guests with a residence permit and members of the Binntal Nature Park.

Arrival by public transport

Ernen, Dorfplatz Timetable SBB

Price information

Free with the guest card from the Tourist office of the Binntal Nature Park. and members of the Binntal Nature Park. For the other participants: CHF 5.00.


Not wheelchair-accessibleToilets not wheelchair-accessible Parking place not wheelchair-accessible
More informations


Tourismusbüro Ernen
Landschaftspark Binntal
Hengert 17
3995 Ernen
Tel. +41 27 971 50 55

Church museum in Ernen


Book accommodation

Show all apartments Show all hotels

The external booking tool is not barrier-free