On the alpine road and further along the Binna river, we come through a small canyon, whose rock, a Grisons slate, contains a striking quantity of garnets, to Wyssbach at the junction of the Turbewasser and the young Binna
Cäsar Ritz was born into a farming family in Niederwald in 1850, the youngest of 13 children. He forged an impressive career, starting as a shepherd boy and going on to become a hotel director, opening luxury hotels in Paris, Rome and London.
The parish church of St. Georg was built by the famous Prismell master builder Ulrich Ruffener under Bishop Matthäus Schiner of Mühlebach. The magnificent Baroque high altar dates back to 1758-61.
Die Kapelle der Heiligen Familie steht am idyllischen Dorfplatz von Steinhaus und wurde um 1728 erbaut. Der buntbemalte Altar zeigt die Heilige Familie auf dem Tempelgang nach Jerusalem, begleitet von der Taube des Heiligen Geistes.
The showpiece of Ernen is the village square (Dorfplatz), around which numerous historic buildings are grouped, e.g. the St. Georg tavern (1535), the "Tellenhaus" (1576) with the oldest Tell frescos in Switzerland or the "Zendenrathaus" (dated 1750).
The botanist Eduard Thommen described them as an independent species. "Tulipa grengiolensis" has been considered since then as a unique species of tulip that only grows in Switzerland. It flowers only in the village of Grengiols and its surroundings.
Even today, the small settlement of Bodmen displays all components of a genuine independent village; chapel, residential and utility buildings, trails, alleys and courtyards, scattered green area are integrated into a fascinating community.
The attractively situated hamlet of Hockmatta was first mentioned in 1393 and stands on a once-busy track from Grengiols to Albrun. The few residential and utility buildings encompass an square-like interior, and there is a chapel on its west edge.
The Binntal Landscape Park authorities have created a small museum in an old alpine hut at Hanschbiel on the Binner Alpe. In summer it is only locked with an iron bar gate, so hikers can look in as they pass.
Make a stop in the small hamlet and look at the sunburned houses: Mühlebach has the oldest village centre in Switzerland of timber construction. Here there is a signposted house trail leading to objects worthy of seeing.
The museum shows the life of the governor Jakob Valentin Sigristen before the invasion of the French into the old Valais.
The walk to Manibode takes 2 h 30 and lies on the route to the Geisspfad (goat's trail).
Private mineral museum owned by the crystal searcher André Gorsatt in the hamlet of Fäld at the mineral shop.
The exhibition is devoted to the thing that has made this valley famous far beyond Switzerland: minerals.
St. James' chapel is dedicated to the patron saint of pilgrims, St. James the Elder and lies in what is called in common parlance "Uff dum Blatt" in the municipality of Grengiols on the way to the place of pilgrimage Heiligkreuz.
with council chamber, archive, torture chamber and prison